Indira Aawas Yojna

Share On: Whatsapp

Indira Awaas Yojana (IAY) is a sub-scheme of the Ministry of Rural Development’s Rural Landless Employment Guarantee Programme (RLEGP). The Indira Awaas Yojana’s major goal is to provide a grant for house construction to members of Scheduled Caste (SC)/Scheduled Tribes (ST), liberated bonded labours, and non-SC/ST categories living below the poverty line.


The Indira Awaas Yojana has the following goals:

  1. To assist in the construction of houses in rural areas.
  2. To assist in the construction of dwellings by providing suitable provisions, such as workspaces within the house.
  3. To design houses based on the needs of the inhabitants.
  4. To promote the use of technology and materials that are economical, conducive to job creation, environmentally benign, and long-lasting.
  5. To empower and encourage Panchayats to take the lead in implementing this housing plan at the village level.


The Indira Awaas Yojana has the following goals:

The following are the key features of the Indira Awaas Yojana (IAY):

Shared Ownership

The dwellings granted under the Indira Awaas Yojana (IAY) shall be jointly owned by the husband and wife, unless the individual is unmarried, widowed, or divorced.


The beneficiary is responsible for the construction of the houses. Under IAY, contractors should not be involved in the construction of residences. If the beneficiary has designated a contractor, the State Government will withdraw the monies spent on the project.

Technical Assistance

For the construction of the IAY house, assistance is offered in the form of technical and management supervision. In addition, the services of reputable NGOs, philanthropic organisations, and youth clubs can be used to provide the beneficiaries with essential service support.

Standards for Design and Construction

The State Government promotes eco-friendly housing approaches in order to improve houses with utilities such as water supply, internal and approach roads, sewerage, drainage, street lighting, and social infrastructure amenities in slums.

Target Group

The target category includes households that are below the poverty line (BPL) as determined by a village’s Gram Sabha. The Central Government would support women-headed households, SC/ST individuals, non-SC/ST rural households below the poverty line, ex-servicemen, widows, disabled individuals, liberated bonded labourers, and marginalised sections of society.

Special projects

The Central Government will grant cash for specific initiatives started for the following purposes under the Indira Awaas Yojana (IAY):

  1. Rural poverty-stricken families are being rehabilitated.
  2. To provide a home for freed manual scavengers and bonded labourers.
  3. To give a solution for tribal societies that are vulnerable.
  4. Individuals impacted by occupational disorders are rehabilitated.
  5. Families who are covered by the Scheduled Tribes and Other Traditional Forest Dwellers Act are settled.
  6. Families who are obliged to relocate from districts are settled.
  7. Demonstration of new technology, with a focus on low-cost and environmentally responsible options.


The scheme’s execution is the duty of the Zila Parishad at the district level, and if there is no Zila Parishad in the state, the concerned body comparable to the same should take over.

However, at the local level, the Village Panchayats are in charge of enforcing the Indira Awaas Yojana requirements (IAY). If a state lacks a Village Panchayat, the accountable authority is the authority that is comparable to the same. If the Village Panchayats are unable to complete the assignment, the State Government may delegate the intermediate level responsibility to the Panchayat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *